TAKING CARE OF YOUR HEALTH

Two days ago I commented on the arrival of November and the approaching end of the year in 60(no less)days. Which means the demands of the holidays is upon us. Every year, it seems the turkeys and the holiday songs arrive before Halloween. And that means many of us  fall into the “I have to make the holidays perfect for my family ” belief, leaving little or no time for your writing. I’ve worked (my day job at any rate)in the mental  health field for over twenty years, so I’m here to say, TAKE CARE OF YOUR HEALTH! Which means making sure you find time to write. I don’t mean carving out a few minutes here or there, but sticking to your schedule as much as you can. Modify, yes. Give it up, no. Be as creative as you can, but be sure you are writing everyday To be sure you stay focused, I ask you to consider these tips. Be sure you are getting enough sleep. Don’t indulge in everyone else’s culinary creativity and overeat. Say no from unnecessary or unreasonable requests, and make  sure your family knows that is your desire. OK, I only have dogs, but I promise the world will not end if you don’t make five dozen brownies or promise to decorate the school cafeteria for the Holiday Dance or promise to stuff 2000 envelopes.  If any of these demands leaves you too tired to write(one of your greatest loves, right?)then gently but firmly  say “No.” Cut back where you can and do NOT let anyone try to fill you with guilt for your decision. Many of you(like me)still have to have day jobs(Simon and Schuster, where is that five book contract and the seven figure advance?)so we write when we can. So it becomes particularly important for us  to be able to say no when we can with a clear conscience. Saying no, like writing, gets easier with practice. So remember what PITCH stands for. Put It in The Chair! And what comes next, class? WRITE!

A Hero's HeartAnd now, I am proud to do my first Cover Reveal for fellow BTGN author, Amber Daulton for her soon to be released story, A Hero’s Heart. How would you like to find him under your mistletoe? Or Christmas tree? Or waiting in your front yard? Sigh. isn’t being a writer fun? Amber has promised to let me read this story very soon, so keep watching for a review on this post! Good work, Amber!

Leave a Reply

